Listen or
translate

Skip to main content

Sandra Chester

I have been childminding since 1998; I live in an extended semi detached house, on High Meadows close to bus stops from Whitehaven and Cleator Moor.  There is a local park within walking distance which we use often.

I have 2 grown up children.  The eldest has left home and the youngest is at University and is only home at Christmas and summer vacations. Both myself and my youngest child are DBS checked,  I provide childminding care for children aged 0 – 11yrs old (for older children information available upon request).

The downstairs of the house is totally child friendly and safe with a downstairs toilet.  There is an enclosed back garden which is flagged and has a section which has artificial turf with an extensive range of play equipment and toys available.  I have a dog which is kept upstairs during working hours.

We visit local playgroups, soft play centres, and a wide range of parks and make use of other local amenities within our area.  The children have easy access to toys & resource in my home as well as crafts, messy play as well small world, jigsaws, and books.

At present I have a several different children with disabilities (these can be discussed further if needed).  I work closely with other agenices if ever required.

Nursery/school collections are available: these will depend on the days, times and which locations you may require, as I may have a collection at a different school/location when you’re wanting care for your child. I do offer 2’s funding/nursery education spaces for this are limited at this present time. I have a 7 seater car which has business insurance.  I have a NVQ3 in Early Years.

I am Paediatric First Aid Trained and I have Safeguarding Level 1, 2 & 3. I attend a lot training which is mainly attended on an evening or a weekend on various subjects/areas of Early years and childcare, as well as conferences.    

At present I have a several different children with disabilities (mainly respite on an evening/weekend these can be discussed further if needed).  I work closely with parents & multi agencies (a copy of my SEND policy is available upon request).  I have worked with ADHD & Autistic children for over 14 years and other disabilities I take advantage of the training when it is available.  I’m afraid as I work on my own I would not be able to other one on one with any children through the week.

Further information and details available, please use the e-mail address provided

Who to contact

Contact Name
Mrs S Chester
Contact Position
Ofsted Registered Childminder
Telephone
0776 587 0045
E-mail
san.chester@yahoo.co.uk

Where to go

Name
Home Based 0 - 11yrs (older children can be discussed)
Postcode
CA28 6UA
Notes

I am located in between the Loop Road (A595) and the fire station in Whitehaven

Other Details

Costs

Details
The cost varies on the times and if its a week day, evening or a weekend

Availability

Other notes

At present im going through the process of early years funding and hopefully will be available to offer this from January 2019

Inclusion Information

Wheelchair Access

Has Provision
Yes
Details
Further information on this is available upon request

Special Needs

Has Provision
Yes
Details
over 14 year experience working with ADHD & Autism and their familys/support workers, and nearly two yrs working with a Downs Syndrome child and their family as well as other disabilities that I have provide support/respite to

Dietary Needs

Has Provision
Yes
Details
Further information on this is available upon request

Cultural Provisions

Has Provision
Yes
Details
Further information on this is available upon request

Childcare Information

Vacancies

Immediate vacancies
Yes

Funded Places

3 & 4 year old funding
No
2 year old funding
No

Opening Times & Facilities

Opening Times
Opening Times
DayOpening TimeClosing Time
Monday 0630 19.30
Tuesday 0630 19.30
Wednesday 0630 19.30
Thursday 0630 19.30
Friday 0630 17.30
Saturday 0800 1400
Sunday 0800 1400
Not every weekend is available
Facilities
Large book collection
Kitchen for use by children
IT facilities
Involvement in local community projects.
Internet Connection
ICT Facilities
Out-door Play
Other
After School Care
Open Space
Multicultural Resources
Library
Pet Dogs
Outdoor Toys
Outdoor Playspace
Playroom
Play Gyms
Play Equipment for all ages
Play activities
Pick up service from child's home
Physical play opportunities
Pets
Cater for Special Diets
Sand and Water resources
Babysitting
Meals / Refreshments
Temporary Places
Quiet RoomSleeping Area
Quiet Area
Before School Care
Near Public Transport
Private Changing Area
Book Corner
Slides
Sleeping Area
Baby Facilities
Short Breaks
Art and Craft activities
Separate Play Room
Accessible Parking
Secure Outdoor Play area
TVVideo
Dining room
TVDVD
Trampoline
Sports Activities
Climbing Frame
CCTV
Car Parking
Emergency / Short Term Care
Healthy Eating
Working Unsociable Hours
Garden
Games Console
Public Liability Insurance
Visit & Outings
Use of local facilities

School Pickups

Offers pickups
Yes
Details
At present i collect from Hensingham Primary school, as well as occasional days from other locations. I also collect from after school clubs if needed, but this will depend on the length of stay after collection from school.
Last updated: 01/02/2019
Back to top